There’s a Class for Eating Food?!

It’s been awhile since my last update, and I already have my class schedule figured out now, but before I did, I went through shopping period. And let me tell you, shopping period is a godsend. Otherwise, I might have well just run my finger down a page of offered courses and picked them with my eyes closed. The number of classes offered here is extraordinary.

There is a class, I kid you not, called Science of the Physical Universe 27:  Science and Cooking: From Haute Cuisine to Soft Matter Science. What does this class entail? Well, each week a world-class chef visits and lectures on his or her speciality. These include sous vide, gelation, and spherification.

Word on the street is there’s very little homework for the class and the food is delicious. Obviously, everybody else had the same idea as me to go shop the class because I couldn’t even get through the door on the day I tried to attend! Keep in mind, this is a lecture hall that seats 350 people, not including the people who sat in the aisles, filing all the way up to the doorways. Poor me, I couldn’t even hear past the other eager students mobbing in the doorway. So I moved on to find a less crowded class.

Trying to Sneak a Peek Inside

For any college girl looking for a fun class to take, this one sure pops out at you: Culture and Belief 37: From Jane Austen to Chic Lit. Excuse me, there is a class for reading chick books?! Oh yes, the reading list includes Wuthering Heights, Jane Eyre,  Pride and Prejudice, and Bridget Jone’s Diary. People would actually get class credit for books I’ve been meaning to read in my spare time?

However, once again, I fled the overbearing crowd in hopes of a less publicly-broadcasted yet still popular class.

And look what I found! Empirical and Mathematical Reasoning 16: Real-life Statistics: Your Chance for Happiness (or Misery). This class, which counts as a math credit, looks at statistics in a practical sense; it is split into four “Real-Life Modules” that can make you rich or poor (financial investments), loved or lonely (on-line dating), healthy or ill (clinical trials), and satisfied or frustrated (chocolate/wine tasting). Any class that can combine chocolate, wine, and on-line dating is obviously a win. I’ve already learned how to raise my chances of winning on a game show (What’s behind Door #1?) and how to woo men online. Well not really, we just discussed the surveys those sites use and how/why people are attracted to one another, but I can use that for online wooing if I want to.

First Day in Statistics of Happiness

So I had found one class I wanted to take. And I had already placed into my Chinese class. (Third year level). So I needed two more classes. Well, I had wanted to take another foreign language but I just wasn’t sure which one.

I shopped a Russian class, which was very interesting, but I wasn’t sure I could handle both Chinese AND Russian- one without an alphabet and one with an alphabet I was not accustomed to. So I took the easy route and started up Spanish again. I haven’t taken Spanish since 7th grade but I put myself into a 2nd semester class anyways…I like a challenge.

Bulletin Board in the Russian Department

So if you’ve been keeping track, I now have three classes on my schedule- Chinese, Spanish, and Stats. But I still needed one more! At this point, I was worn out and had no idea what I wanted to take…so I just followed my roommate to a class she was shopping called Sociology 155: Class and Culture. Our first class began with the professor playing video clips of rednecks mud wrestling, rich men discussing their car collections, and a woman in a trailer park talking about her car, which she couldn’t drive because she couldn’t afford a new tire for it. I thought the class would be boring, but the reading assignments are mind-boggling and the lectures fail to bore me. We are encouraged to find everyday examples of class differences and discuss them in our journals or on the course blog.

So those are my classes! I’m obviously a little biased towards the Arts & Social Sciences, but I’m not at MIT so that’s completely fine.

2 thoughts on “There’s a Class for Eating Food?!

Leave a Reply

